Reviews For To Run In Circles
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: baybelletrist Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/20/2011 5:25:05 PM Title: Chapter 1

Nah, no need to feel silly. It's not really very obvious, is it? ^_^

Reviewer: Tamana Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/20/2011 2:04:28 PM Title: Chapter 5

Whoa... so, where to start? First, thanks for the update (and that was not meant as a sarcasm, but gratitude)
You know what I like about you? You're so bold. So unpredictable. Like this chapter. I really, really, really loved it. The twist was so good! Wasn't something I expected or thought of. Although it was kinda obvious, now that I think about it. Anyway, there are many good things to say about this chapter. I love how you've portrayed Logan/Wolverine. And yes, I meant obnoxious. Gotta love him. One last thing, it's a great way to make these two bond. I think now Logan's gonna be more understanding of her pain and what she's going through. Before, Logan was just an ass, but I feel like in this chapter we see a new side of him. A softer side. Anyway, I really like it. I admire you so much.

Now, you have a great Easter.
Lots of love, Tamana

Author's Response: ***WHOMP***<--That's the sound of me throwing myself at you. One hundred and thirty pounds of ecstatic rogan fan giving you a bear hug--no, a wolverine hug because, let's face it, Logan would take down Yogi in a single punch. You're unbelievable. Thank you, thank you, thank you, and I hope this holiday and all the ones that follow bring you everything you could ever want. >hugs<

Reviewer: litlen Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 04/19/2011 2:18:02 PM Title: Chapter 5

Apologies I seem to have forgotten to give you a line/paragraph.....or 2.....or.....[well it was hard! and I had to force myself to stop the whole thing was so damn good]

‘And he couldn't remember how many men he'd killed tonight.
And Rogue had closed her eyes on the jet as if grateful at the idea that they may never open.
And her footprints had been visible because of the freshly vacuumed carpet. His were visible because of the blood.
And why did he care?
Why did he care?
Why did he care?’


‘with only one more glance that said something that cannot be recorded, because it does have a voice. Something that had the ring of thank you and the breath of curiosity. And how could he say just how that look, that look, served to deepen his interest, like a spear sinking further into its warm-blooded target. ‘


But then, like the sudden thrashing of a candle's flame, her sleeping patterns became erratic, wholly and sharply incalculable. She'd be up, consuming days in a gulp of wakefulness.....
Like you, Jean said.
And her eyes turned cold and shuttered, blockaded like a fort under heavy fire. She looked at him like an unwanted visitor who'd overstayed his forced welcome, like any moment, any word, any action, would spark a fury whose only language was screams.....
Why?
But sometimes, oh, sometimes, Rogue would come and sit beside him, watch a movie, a game, a newsreel. Silent and passive, without the tension or inexplicable anger that so often corded the muscles in her shoulders.
As if there were nothing wrong.

Ok I’m done now! this now concludes my review x

Author's Response: What did I ever do to earn someone like you as a reader? You're reviews are like, the greatest thing imaginable plus a puppy. When me and Sarah have finished fine-tuning our plan to build a barn and lure in the naked Wolverine, you, my grand friend, can borrow him free of charge.

Reviewer: sahara Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/18/2011 6:55:09 PM Title: Chapter 5

You are too fucking nice, you know that? How can I deserve more than I'm getting when it's taken me like a fucking month to review your story when I talk to you like everyday? I think you've got it backwards. You deserve more than you're getting. Anyway...

"And Rogue had closed her eyes on the jet as if grateful at the idea that they may never open." Oh mess. Your poor Marie.

Ah, so that's where the Pabst went!

Although I'm glad I recognize the eating at different times thing, the unwanted changes in her schedule, I have to say that I don't follow the last part. Not entirely sure what that exchange about her fix really meant, what Logan suddenly understood.

Could be the taco coma.

Author's Response: Nice? Hardly. At the video store I put a copy of WaterWorld next to Xmen, just to let Jean know what's coming to her. The words "Drown, b****, drown" may have been uttered. Not quietly. Thank you for your incredible generosity, for this, for your shared knowledge of crappy alcoholic beverages....I'm sorry. I was worried that wouldn't be clear enough. Logan saw her watching a drug dealer across the bar, concluded that she was an addict, and understood that that was the reason she didn't want him there. Make a tiny bit more sense? I hope the explanation didn't confuse you more.

Reviewer: sahara Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/18/2011 6:41:18 PM Title: Chapter 4

"Ashen, like the dead and embalmed too late into decomposition." I've been feeling morbid enough to appreciate this.

Again, teasing, but rich with beautiful descriptions. I always love your Logan & Rogue dynamics. This is no exception. Glad she's got more fire than The Girl & Heal Over Maries - but there's still a *hint* of something that's not quite right, just a bit broken somewhere that makes her Rose's Marie.

That doesn't make sense, sorry. Taco coma.

Author's Response: You almost always make sense when you say you're not making sense. Thank you for this, and for being so awesome I'd split my zero bar with you...and give you the bigger half.

Reviewer: sahara Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/18/2011 6:36:58 PM Title: Chapter 3

"Scott was a much better pilot these days. Logan couldn't quite recall when this change had come to be." Tee hee. Yes, it's always easier to remember when someone's a fuck up.

So glad I read this after eating. Yum, bloodlust to go with my meatless tacos.

"Her eyes were bloodshot, like the most devoted of students or alcoholics." So good. So true. Such a good fucking observation.

I'd accuse you of being a tease if you weren't so damn generous with your descriptions.

Author's Response: Yes! >punches air< I wrote those line thinking of you. I *knew* you'd see them. I *knew* it! Thank you!!!!!

Reviewer: baybelletrist Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/18/2011 6:29:58 PM Title: Chapter 1

Hee! Actually, my username comes from bay + belletrist. I live in the SF Bay Area, and I aspire to be a belletrist, a write of belles lettres, which is a French and fancified way of saying beautiful words. No Harry Potter ref here, although I do enjoy the books and films. ^_^

Author's Response: Oh, mess....>clears throat<....I feel like a jack@$$.....my bad....Haha. :~D The true meaning is much lovelier than my impression. Good pick.

Reviewer: serafim Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 04/18/2011 1:17:27 PM Title: Chapter 1

I just wanted to let you know that you are the reason why I'm trying at this fanfiction stuff - I have read every story you have written and each and every time, I just sit there, mouth open. You're like a chef, the way you effortlessly throw words together to convey emotion and atmosphere, it's just so PERFECT. Even though I take my time reading each word, I still go back to re-read it, just to experience everything all over again. I love this story, and no matter how long you need to put up another chapter, I will always read it, and re-read it. Everyone who has reviewed this latest chapter already pretty much nailed every line I loved, so if I may, "Ditto" to what they said! :)

Author's Response: Effortlessly? Only if that word's definition has been altered to involve ripping your hair out. But thank you, thank you so much I have tears in my eyes and have reread this a shameful number of times. This means so much to me--I'll be looking to this after a bad day for a long time. Thank you, thank you, thank you. I can't say it enough.

Reviewer: litlen Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 04/18/2011 12:02:56 PM Title: Chapter 5

Well? .........Well I adore the depth of everything in this fic, the questioning of himself, of her, of everything, the observation of every tiny detail - I have no idea how you manage to convey all of this so flippin eloquently on to our screens but am so glad you do. Your style in this one really is above and beyond and deserves much more credit.

As for your promise, It may have originally got me to take that leap into chapter reading but I never really held you to it! Once hooked in on one of your fics I couldn’t leave even if I wanted to [which my dear has not happened yet, will certainly not happen with this one and is highly unlikely to happen to any future fics!] Take whatever time you need, I have no idea where you’re going to take this, how you’re going to get there or how it will end but even if Logan ends up being an axe murderer and we’re all left saying WTF this ‘story’ is not for me – it wouldn’t change the fact I think this is the best ‘writing’ from you so far. [and so far I also happen to love the content so no worries!!] If for some reason you need an extra boost – let us know, cause I’m sure none of us that have an appreciation for the effort you put in would mind throwing you some extra praise x

Author's Response: Why would Logan need an axe? ;~D Well, you are better than the best piece of chocolate, the richest cake, the most well-cooked burger, the two extra eggroll the guy at the Chinese place slips in the box because you're wearing your low-cut top (can you tell I'm hungry?). I was relieved, ecstatic, thrilled, all the good adjectives that exist and all the good adjectives that don't, reading this. You're the best, and I'm glad I haven't lost your...readership? That the word? Or your good opinion. Thank you, with all of my heart.

Reviewer: Ebony10 Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/18/2011 12:32:14 AM Title: Chapter 5

I'm so happy for an update. I definitely have not lost interest and your update didn't take as long as you might think- way faster than some other authors (some of whom even abandon fics altogether, sadly). Anyway, so happy! Liked it, as usual. And the style is always so perfect!

Author's Response: I'm happier than I can say that you feel that way. Time between posting always seems quadruple as long without marvelous reviews like yours. Thank you, you're wonderful and I hope your interest continues. >hugs very tightly<

Reviewer: alesia Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/17/2011 11:44:20 PM Title: Chapter 5

I am really interested to understand what Rogue did to be 'punished' as she is by the Xmen, especially since they are obviously asking/expecting/demanding that she use her mutation as they deem fit. It is good, I like it and I want to know more.

Author's Response: Oh, thank you, thank you. So pleased that you feel that way...I think (hope) your questions will be answered in the next chapters.

Reviewer: natsuki sochi Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/17/2011 9:41:06 PM Title: Chapter 5

keeep it coming Author-san

Author's Response: Thank you, I'll try!!! :~D

Reviewer: tamisnead Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 04/17/2011 9:33:22 PM Title: Chapter 5

I was so happy to seean update to this story. If you're not writing for a living, you should be. Your work deserves a wider audience. Each sentence is so well-crafted it is almost a mini-stand-alone story of it's own. Please update again soon. Reading your work sinks me into a world that I am reluctant to leave.

Author's Response: Oh my god. See, this is the kind of beautiful, kind, generous message that would make me cry if I was a person who cried....Okay, that's a lie. I cry at everything, even poignant Allstate commercials. And I had to grab a tissue after reading this. Thank you, Tamisnead, for being so thoughtful.

Reviewer: baybelletrist Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 04/17/2011 8:34:08 PM Title: Chapter 5

Nope, Rose, no Tylenol needed. As always, I love your use of language and imagery... "an impertinent bird" and "cold and shuttered, blockaded like a fort under heavy fire" were wonderful. I also love the way so much is unsaid and unknown to Logan but is clear to the informed reader. Dramatic irony, yo.

As for the delay in posting, shpff. Stuff gets posted when it gets posted. I can't understand anyone who loses interest in a story just because it doesn't get completed on some hypothetical schedule. If it's worth reading, it's worth reading... and your stuff is.

People who complain about "late" posting of stories that are completely free and which the authors are sharing for the love of the telling and the craft... those people annoy me. (I actually have a rude term for them which I will not employ here, lest I call down the wrath of Devil Doll. ;) )

Thank you! :)

Author's Response: Shpff? Might be the most beautiful unheard sound in the whole world. Thank you, thank you dear girl. This was a wonderful thing to start my day with........Btw, I've had this strange craving to reread the Harry Potter books. I think its because I finally realized where your username comes from. >slaps forehead<

Reviewer: baybelletrist Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/05/2011 3:45:17 AM Title: Chapter 4

Rereading this, I am struck by the thought that Jean seems more sympathetic than you sometimes paint her. She was downright mean in "The Girl" and "Science Geek Series" and especially "Heal Over." I've never disliked her, so I'm enjoying this different portrayal. (I do find it amusing that Logan doesn't seem to find her all that attractive, though, considering he used the word "screech.")

Author's Response: Yes, I semi-challenged myself ('semi' because I was almost positive that I wouldn't be able to do it) at the beginning of this to depict Jean with less hatred than I normally feel for that character. Sometimes it slips out, but I don't intend to make her the bad guy in this one. It was very astute, intuitive of you to notice. Thank you very much!!!!!

Reviewer: doctorg Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 03/31/2011 10:46:30 PM Title: Chapter 4

I loved, loved, LOVED this chapter. The reason it's taken me so long to review is that I really could not narrow down my favorite lines. I managed to get it down to -- what, 5?

"to Jean, following as dedicated and useless as a shadow"

"the flurry of bitter sparks in his chest"

"Logan expected her to fall against him, into him, with the ease and the sharp relief of a puzzle piece finally submitting to its designated niche"

"the sidelong glances of those who had not fully left childhood but had been transformed into weapons through necessity"

Just a beautiful, amazing, lyrical, evocative chapter, so packed full of goodness it didn't seem short to me. Can't wait for more.

Author's Response: I crowed aloud at this, danced happily (and probably frighteningly) in my chair. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Reviewer: alesia Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/29/2011 10:05:40 PM Title: Chapter 4

I have just read this story the first time and I am really enjoying it. I am interigued as to why Rogue may have been with the Xmen before and left and why they treat her like they do now that she is back. Your writing style for this is more lyrical than your previous pieces. I don't know if you are trying to give this piece an almost poetic quality but that is what you are doing and I find it compelling to read and a wonderful change of pace. More PLEASE!!!

Author's Response: Lord, I could have sworn that I had responded to this review--I've certainly drooled over it enough. Thank you, thank you a million times. This was so sweet, so very generous. >hugs<

Reviewer: baybelletrist Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/29/2011 6:38:22 PM Title: Chapter 1

Fie on that restaurant! Fie! Withholding Rose's eggrolls is weaksauce, people, now come on. Maybe you can channel Logan for just long enough to ask for what you paid for? Because me, I am too old for that sh*t (she said, at the ripe age of almost-40).

Also, you're welcome. ;)

Author's Response: I know, right?! >shakes head sadly< I'm glad you understand my pain--you're much less of a wimp than I am. :~D Thanks....Oh, mess. That would make an excellent bunny for a foof fan, wouldn't it? Of course, Logan would be all, "I got your eggroll right here, Lady."

Reviewer: Tamana Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 03/29/2011 4:38:50 PM Title: Chapter 4

Wow! Could these two be any crankier? I love your version of Logan. He's so... annoying. So not domestic! I really wanna know how these two will bond? But I also like your pace; taking things slowly - very realistic.

I love this part: "He did not notice when the Blackbird lifted its wings to meet the sky,.." It's very clever how you've used Logan's phobia of flying. That he's so taken by her that he doesn't even notice his "fear". Excellent!

And yes, my favorite author, I will send (if I have any) my questions to you. Okay, here's a question: when will you upload chapter 5?? :-D

Author's Response: Annoying....in a gritty, dark, realistic way or an obnoxious way? Because I was totally shooting for obnoxious. ;~D Things will speed up semi-sorta-soon. I hope you will enjoy it just as much then. Thank you for this. I always walk around with on air after reading one of your reviews.

Reviewer: DarkDragonfly Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 03/28/2011 6:45:38 PM Title: Chapter 1

While keeping the transition between themes in chapters makes sense it does not mean I cant be upset with you for making me wait even longer for more development!!

This was...brutal...in a good way, the pain and just...rawness in Rogue and the internal war of Logan was just amazing.

Author's Response: Oh, lord. I want to hug you and run around screaming at the same time...it'd be a little awkward, sprinting in circles while giving someone a bearhug, but I think we could do it. Thank you very very very much.

Reviewer: baybelletrist Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 03/28/2011 5:32:48 PM Title: Chapter 4

Ooh, the plot thickens. Making us wait for the progression of the relationship, however, is cruel, cruel, cruel.

Author's Response: I know. Quite the heartless monster, aren't I? Almost as bad as your favorite restaurant forgetting to give you your favorite eggrolls which you paid seven dollars for, and that's like an hours worth of pay and you've been craving them all week but you're neither snobby or brave enough to walk back up there and ask for them....can you tell I'm eating dinner now? Anyhoodles, thank you. You're awesome and I'm grateful for your continued interest....I really wanted those eggrolls...

Reviewer: litlen Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 03/28/2011 4:57:08 PM Title: Chapter 4

‘The next runs along a different vein, and progresses the personal relationship between Logan and Rogue, [yes!] and I felt it deserved to be separate [Damn you woman where’s your compassion].....this was not a good place to stop. In fact it was a very very cruel place to stop! You may redeem yourself by hotfooting it to that happy land where chapters are born and speed write the next delicious morsel for us.

You continue to blow me away.....I absolutely adored that 1st para x

Superb…………that’s all you get 'till the next bits up I’m rationing!!!

Author's Response: You know, rationing such scrumptious life-essential goodness is bad for your health. It's been linked to baldness and kidney failure and testicular cancer even in women....I swear, I read it in a medical health magazine journal book thing. >wide eyes< Hey I'm just looking out for your health, girl. Got your back.......Thank you very much, Litlen. You're encouragement is very inspiring.

Reviewer: Tamana Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/27/2011 2:08:27 PM Title: Chapter 3

Yes, definitely an odd chapter. I got a little confused while reading it. If it were anyone else's story, I probably would have skipped it. But it's You. So, no can do. But everyone else seems to get it? It's probably me then? Anyway, I'm looking forward to read chapter 4. Hurry, willya?? xD

Love,
Tamana

Author's Response: Oh no! I'm so sorry. If you let me know what you were unsure about, I'd be happy to try to explain/apologize emphatically for whatever was unclear. Send me any questions you have, okay?

Reviewer: litlen Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 03/22/2011 8:03:19 AM Title: Chapter 3

‘Alrighty, so not the shorter fic I'd intended. I'm guessing this will have twice as many chapters as I'd originally estimated’........and I find myself saying Yessssssssssss!! when not so long ago I would have run for the hills. Now this is the power of fantastic writing x take as damn well long as you like and add as many flippin chapters as you like I could read this all day, I’m loving every word and it is in no way rambling when read and I don’t find it remotely odd either unless odd is the new word for amazing in which case its really odd!

p.s. just a little shout for observations….the boy is good isn’t he? Nothing gets past our Logan, loved that last one, how long before sparks fly and he tells them to back the fuck off I wonder?

Author's Response: Haha! You are the *sweetest*. You always manage to say the think that can lift me right out of a writing funk. Thank you. I cannot say how happy I am to read these words.

Reviewer: MoonlightStorm Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/21/2011 3:11:06 AM Title: Chapter 3

Looking forward to the next bit!

You must login (register) to review.