Reviews For Lay Down My Heart
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Nebelwerfer42 Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 07/12/2016 1:16:55 AM Title: Chapter 9

If the story had ended in the last chapter I would have been very Happy. So this chapter is kinda like icing on the cake. Speaking of sweets, I missed the chocolate reference in the previous chapter, very interesting way of admitting her feelings.

I see this chapter as kind of a victory lap to celebrate Marie and Logan getting back together. Lots of wonderful scenes. The mall scene with Jubilee is awesome, made me wonder why the mall scene was cut out of the X-Men Apocalypse movie. Jubilee is a fun character to read about, she possesses such a frantic enthusiasm. Shower scene was great I remember them taking about Marie shower not having enough space for additional "activities". Its great to see Marie integrating into the mansion, getting friends and finding a home.

The final "I love you" is the cherry on top of the icing on top of the cake. Very enjoyable story. I'll be browsing through more your back catalogue while I await more of your stories.

Author's Response: Mmm…cake! :) I couldn't let it go without a true happy ending.

In a way, I'm glad that the movies never really developed Jubilee. They would mess up her character and we'd be stuck with fixing something awful.

Have to throw in a shower scene every now and then. ;) Plus, it seemed like the most spur of the moment place for Marie to finally say those three little words after she feels comfortable.

Thanks again. *thinks a minute* As a warning, there are two angsty stories of my in the archives with no resolution/happy ending.

Reviewer: Nebelwerfer42 Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 07/12/2016 1:01:13 AM Title: Chapter 8

Warm and happy chapter, Marie leaving her apartment behind is a nice symbolism for her leaving her past behind.

Some great scenes in the chapter and the reunion is tinged with a philosophical look on taking a chance with love. Marie's hesitance between wanting to be loved vs a uncertain future is a great theme, coupled with the fact that she's never really loved till not is wonderful.

Also knowing is not believing theme, Marie knows that Logan love her from his memories but she kinda don't believe its possible.

The best scene is where she points out Logan's tells on saying he loved her. I actually went back and reread the chapters and she did notices rather early in their relationship. A very nice detail I did not pick up on the first time through.

For a moment I though the secretary would be Emma, since Jean is a doctor and all, don't think she be happy to just answer phones, But it think its Jean after all. Great reference to Erik and Raven knowing the floor plans of the mansion.

Great chapter.

Author's Response:

Thanks! Marie had to make the tough cut with the past, I didn't see it working if she thought there was something to go back to. Her life to this point has been rough and she really doesn't know how to deal with the feelings Logan has brought to the surface.

Logan has a great poker face, except where Marie is concerned. She was more observant that he thought.

Ah, the secretary. I tried to do a quick search to see if Xavier's Institute had a secretary in comic verse that I could use. No luck, but I thought one that was telepathic would be best. I don't think either Emma or Jean would be happy in that role, maybe one of them was filling in. :)

Thanks again.

Reviewer: Nebelwerfer42 Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 07/11/2016 10:44:17 PM Title: Chapter 7

Another great chapter, kinda tough to read. I tend to skim the angst parts normally but for a review I have to pay attention.

Actually got pretty angry when I thought there was third party in the mix, glad that cleared up quickly, getting another person involved during a rough period in a relationship is just the worst.

It was very fun to see Marie work through her emotions. I would have liked to see a bit more of Logan. But the crux of the problem lies with Marie so it was for the best.

The line about plotting Jubilee's death was great as is the confusion Marie felt when Jubilee actually wants to get her and Logan together.

Glad to see Marie finally admitting her feelings.

Great read.

Author's Response: Sorry about the tough read, but I had to take it slow to fix it properly.

A third party in a relationship is bad, but it felt true to how Jubilee would have initially been perceived as she rushed in to help out. We didn't see more of Logan because he was not talking to me. He refused to have any real input until I was going to fix things. :D

Jubilee has a heart of gold and really does care despite her flippant manner.

Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: Nebelwerfer42 Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 07/10/2016 2:45:01 AM Title: Chapter 6

Yikes, It was kinda hard for me to read this chapter in a emotionally affected kinda way.
I'm not a fan of angst, but I understand many time some angst is a necessary part of a good relationship drama.
Luckily, of all the angst ridden stuff, the type in the chapter is among the once I dislike the least.
Logan seems to be more angry at his inability to "fix" this relationship/timeline rather than Marie's stubbornness about emotional attachment.
That he takes is promise to her, which for all intents and purposes was never made so seriously, is very endearing. Fits his character very well.
On Marie's part id mostly a self inflicted wound, she did get into the relationship with different expectation that Logan, she is not accepting that she want more.
Very intense, I am looking forward to see who reaches out to who and what compromise they eventually come to.

Author's Response: I'm right there with you on my limits with angst, especially when I have to write it. *nods along* I like light and fluffy so this was definitely a change of pace for me. I always have to stick in a happy ending.

You're right that Logan's anger was focused at himself. He did take his promise seriously and I could see him getting into unnecessary brawls off screen while he was "working something out".

In the end, I think to fix this the reaching out had to be mutual to an extent. Rogue might have to do most of the heavy lifting, but Logan will always be there for her.

Reviewer: Nebelwerfer42 Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 07/08/2016 2:51:55 AM Title: Chapter 5

Another very focused, tight and brisk chapter, things as are moving at quite a pace.

The domestic scenes are great, love the scene where all the concession Marie made to let Logan into her life and space is shown. She care though perhaps not as much as Logan needs

Also this is one of the few Marie's I've read that doesn't like hockey.

Great to see crafty Logan make a come back and approaching the "problem" from different angles.

The final scene on the couch is heartwarming, her fascination with his hand and especially the claws must mean quite a bit for Logan.

And its great to see that this time around the touching reassurances offer by Logan is emotional rather than physical.

Seems like a storm is coming, I shall brace for the gusts of angst.

Author's Response: Ack! I kind of got behind in responding, sorry about that.

In this story, someone wanting to be with Rogue is so totally out of her realm of experience that she doesn't know how to handle it. Not every gal can be a sports fan. :)

When writing this I felt that Logan was trying everyway he could think of (though we may not have seen it in print) to get her to connect with him. He can see by Rogue's fascination with his claws and back story that she cares. However he has come to the end of his rope on forcing her to recognize her feelings.

Yeah, sorry about the angst that follows.

Reviewer: Nebelwerfer42 Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 07/07/2016 3:25:24 AM Title: Chapter 4

I didn't comment on Marie's peeking into Logan's head in the last chapter because I expected this chapter would be about her dealing with those memories.

But this is better, Marie obviously is sticking to her guns about no emotional attachments, and looks like Logan is finally realizing that.

Loving the way this Marie is willing to use all sort of tricks to get Logan in bed, and that line near the end, where she patted Logan's leg is just wonderful.

The way this chapter is structured, has a simple elegance to it. A limited geographical area, (well inside a SUV really) a brief time frame, and great character interactions.

Enjoyed it very much.

Author's Response: When I wrote this, I had a clear vision that Rogue thought she would take Logan's memories like everyone else’s. Take a peek, sort through it, find what she needed and discard the rest. She wasn't prepared to deal with all his feelings/thoughts about her, therefore when she saw how much he cared she didn't want to deal with it.

On the other hand, it took Logan some time to realize she wasn't going to come around. In the beginning he concentrated on the things that made the two Marie's the same person to him and found out that there was one profound difference that he wasn't prepared to deal with.

*blushes* Thank you, I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: Nebelwerfer42 Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 07/06/2016 2:28:38 AM Title: Chapter 3

I loved the scene where Rogue is working. It gave some great insight to her characters, and how this life has affected her. The scene allowed me to infer a lot about Rogue. She is a pro with years of experience, usually well informed, alert, distrustful, but she still cares, enough to work with possible adversaries to help out a kid.

Great line about her been selfish and that she wanted to help people. The empathy she shows is wonderful and demonstrate that the kind and caring side she shows to Logan is her true self, buried due to some harsh life experiences, but its still there. And Logan is slowly drawing it out to the surface.

I knew what Logan wanted since chapter one, he wanted his Marie. Their connection and sexual chemistry aside it was not clear what Marie wanted from this, it can't just be some good company and great sex. This chapter shows exactly what she wanted, she want to be true to herself and Logan's unconditional trust is the push she needs to start being who she really is.

She barely at the starting line, but this chapter puts all the pieces in its place.

Wonderfully done.

Author's Response: Poor Rogue. In this story she was desperately trying to shield herself from being hurt. But you're right that in working with this kid, we get to see a part of her she doesn't like to show others.

Logan knows that caring side is there and will try hard to make it show. The thing is it takes longer and hurts worse than he expected it to.

Rogue is very stubborn in this story and I suspect without that she wouldn't have held the course so long. She will have to hit rock bottom to understand what she wants from her life.

Thank you!

Reviewer: Nebelwerfer42 Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 06/30/2016 4:27:50 PM Title: Chapter 2

A lot of nice developments in the relationship. I love how they seem to just settle in to a routine with each other, Marie might be in denial right now but the connection the two have is very much on display.

The dynamics between the couple is great. It great seem Logan on thr offensive trying is best to show that he cares without coming on too strong.

The jealousy discussion is wonderful, Logan might be possessive, but given his own history, it would be weird for him to be jealousy of Marie's past relationships. Not that emotions are always rational, but I think her rather cold tone when discussing Gambit helped to taper any rash reactions.

Maries struggles wirh her natural/instinctive reactions to Logan is fun to read. I like the tug of war between Marie's rational side and her emotional side, she obviously has some trust issues but she gets just so comfortable with Logan that she kinda has to startle her self awake to get a grip on the situation.

Author's Response: Rogue is going to take some time to get over the denial. Logan does have a tendency to go full bore when he had decided on a plan of action, so he is trying to find that balance here.

You're right. Logan isn't naturally one to harbor jealousy. I could see a possible fleeting glimpse, but nothing long term. And in this case Gambit was more of an acquaintance with benefits, nothing more.

Rogue did get comfortable with Logan, more than she had planned on. Her trust issues and emotional baggage she would prefer not to think about bite her in the behind at every turn.

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments.

Reviewer: Nebelwerfer42 Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 06/28/2016 3:01:37 AM Title: Chapter 1

This chapter has been a joy to read.
3rd person my favorite

Overall it was interesting to see the change in dynamic between from the other Logan/Marie stuff I've read, where Marie is the more casually invested in the relationship to start with.

The chemistry between the two is great, I very much enjoy the scenes you are able to imagine between these two.

There are a lot of scene/interactions I enjoyed, if I had to choose.

The scene about her being an assassin, and the fact the Logan immediately discarded that possibility, really show how hopeful Logan is starting out. That despite Rogue having never been part of the X-Men, and grew up in completely different circumstance, he is still so sure of her.

Then there is the whole conversation leading up to their first time together, again. Love the quick reference to the movies. But best parts if how fast she was able to read Logan's thoughts and emotions like its second nature to her.

Also nice to see that this time the time traveling didn't mess with Wolverines stamina.

I'm actually pretty curious about this world, and would like a bit more exposition, but understandably this is a character story, and the exposition would just get in the way of the pacing.

Well written, great read.

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Logan being 'unaware' is the norm for the pairing and I am guilty of that as much as any writer. :)

It is good to know that the chemistry worked from the very beginning, even with the differences in their characters. It was important to the story, I felt, that Logan and Rogue had an unspoken understanding of each other from the start.

Ah, yes Wolverine's stamina. ;) I can't always take cheap shots at the poor guy.

Exposition … once again I had the dilemma of how much to tell about Rogue's back story without derailing the main story. In the end I left little bits and pieces of her past and how it played into who she became, but not nearly all the ideas I had about her 'upbringing' made it.

Thanks once again.

Reviewer: TrickyBusiness Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 01/27/2016 6:11:39 AM Title: Chapter 9

A wonderful story. I truly love your Logan and Rogue. I like how confident and comfortable Logan is in showing and tell of is love for Rogue. Looking forward to more. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I don't think Logan had much choice if he wanted to win Rogue over. Oops, this was meant to be the last chapter, but I forgot to check the little ticky box. Thanks again for the wonderful comments. :)

Reviewer: Iamthemagicmaker Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 12/16/2015 5:57:27 PM Title: Chapter 9

*applauds and whistles* just a great ending, I'm going to be rereading this story a lot! Any more coming to the series or was it just a two parter?

Author's Response: Aww shucks, thank you! RogueLotus and I have passed a bunch of ideas back and forth. So I can't guarantee that there will be a story right away, because there are more ideas than time. Man, I just need to get organized for writing this coming year.

Reviewer: Killing_time Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 12/14/2015 9:00:50 AM Title: Chapter 9

Now that's an ending! The heavy dose of smuttiness in this is very much appreciated, thank you ;)

Author's Response: <3 Thank you for sticking with me to the end. :)

Reviewer: Iamthemagicmaker Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 12/08/2015 2:05:14 PM Title: Chapter 8

I could have sworn that would have been the ending, so it's exciting to know it's not. I'm hoping for some domesticated bliss now they've got their act together, woo hoo! ;)

Author's Response: It would have fit the happy ending bill, but that was only the make up part, they still need to kiss to make it official. :D Domesticated bliss is on the schedule.

Reviewer: Killing_time Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 12/07/2015 7:52:43 PM Title: Chapter 8

Nicely done! That reconciliation was written so beautifully :)

Author's Response: *blushes* Thank you! *does a happy dance*

Reviewer: Killing_time Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 12/02/2015 12:53:07 PM Title: Chapter 7

Ooh, plans - can't wait! Love that rogue has some supporters!!

Author's Response: *nods sagely* Yes, indeedy there are plans. I don't think Rogue was expecting any supporters, but it works out in her favor.

Reviewer: Iamthemagicmaker Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 11/30/2015 1:00:31 PM Title: Chapter 7

Hmm, with jubilee and kitty in the mix now, I think my hope for wolverine and rogue just went up a notch! Cool part!

Author's Response: ;) Happy ending is on the way.

Reviewer: Iamthemagicmaker Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 11/24/2015 9:58:02 AM Title: Chapter 6

I was thinking it would be rogue to walk away, this is a sad surprise. Hopefully rogue will wake up and realise what's she's lost!

Author's Response: Hmm, I could see Rogue walking away. She is currently an unhappy girl for sure.

Reviewer: Killing_time Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 11/22/2015 6:50:36 PM Title: Chapter 6

I hope the shipper tag will prevail over the angst tag for this story, I don't think I can take an unhappy ending here :(

Author's Response: :) This is the crash landing, emergency exits have been used and the couple will end up reunited. In other words, I couldn't handle an unhappy ending and I don't think RogueLotus would have let me leave it unhappy.

Reviewer: Iamthemagicmaker Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 11/17/2015 7:10:25 PM Title: Chapter 5

Hmmm, now is Logan giving up with rogues starting to feel? These two need to get on the same page!! This was an amazing part, so sexy and revealing :)

Author's Response: Too little, too late? Hang with me, they are going to make it. *blushes* Thank you!

Reviewer: Killing_time Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 11/16/2015 6:24:03 PM Title: Chapter 5

Aww, the ending of this chapter :( I'm really hoping rogue will get it together and look at the memories of the two of them together more!

Author's Response: Rogue will eventually get her stuff together. It will just take a little longer than we'd all like.

Reviewer: Killing_time Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 11/09/2015 9:34:31 AM Title: Chapter 4

Can't say rogue doesn't know how to get what she wants! :D looks like they're both headed for a hard fall here though :(
Looking forward to whatever the next chapter brings!

Author's Response: :) Rogue know how to get what she wants, but as you've foreseen it won't work in the long term. I hope the next chapter doesn't disappoint.

Reviewer: Iamthemagicmaker Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 11/08/2015 11:21:55 AM Title: Chapter 4

Oh rogue, not nice to torture Logan while he is trying to work! Great part, totally cringed in symptathy for poor Logan at the end there...

Author's Response: Rogue certainly wasn't playing fair and Logan is starting to see that there may not be a bottom to this hole they are digging.

Reviewer: Iamthemagicmaker Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 11/02/2015 2:31:49 PM Title: Chapter 3

God that's so good, but so sad too :(

Author's Response: Thank you. There is still some 'sad' parts to come, so hang on.

Reviewer: Killing_time Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 11/02/2015 5:10:17 AM Title: Chapter 3

Oh rogue, running off (or going out of town for a job) is so not going to fly with Logan, but I'm interested to see how that'll go. Cool part, sad, and hot and deep...

Author's Response: Logan doesn't get a whole lot of say in this, but Rogue can't stay gone long. Unfortunately, we are still on the downhill side of this. Thank you for the nice comment.

Reviewer: DarkDragonfly Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 10/29/2015 3:57:04 PM Title: Chapter 1

That chapter was way too short.

Not fair!

Author's Response: *nods* I know, hopefully I will have the next chapter up next week.

You must login (register) to review.