Reviews For Sleeping Dogs
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: White Dove Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/23/2011 9:56:58 PM Title: Out of control

You didn't just do that... You couldn't be that cruel! lol Great chapter. But honestly.... I am confused as to why they are lying about their relationship. They think that the x-men wouldn't let them be together or something. They can deal with rogue once being Brotherhood but not with her training with Logan? I just don't understand why they are lying. why go with a huge elaborate lie when a shortened version of the truth would work just as well.

Author's Response: Really good question. I had been wondering that myself, and I think it's something I'll have to explore soon. I think the whole situation would have arisen from Rogue keeping quiet in that very first meeting, because she wasn't sure how she felt about him. The kill him or kiss him question. And then the ethical issues might present as a problem - they were assassins, killers for hire. Maybe that's OK for a big burly reprodate, but not so acceptable for a young woman? I need to think more on this, and I promise you we'll thrash it out GOOD ;)

Reviewer: tamisnead Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 06/23/2011 8:08:40 PM Title: Out of control

Every chapter, somehow, impossibly gets better.

Author's Response: Thank you! It's such a relief to know I'm sustaining the quality.

Reviewer: Oracle13 Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/23/2011 5:36:01 PM Title: Out of control

Tease! LOL!

This was another gripping chapter. I'm enjoying the twists and turns.

Okay, once you are done with your presentation, you must devote all your time to writing Rogan fanfic. No other distractions, including future presentations will be tolerated! ;)

Author's Response: I'm presenting the full range of post Afarensis hominids to a class at my daughter's school so it will be a little while yet :) It's amazing where inspiration could come from - maybe I'll write Neanderthal Logan and Sapiens Rogue - our very own Clan of the Cave Bear :D

Reviewer: baybelletrist Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 06/23/2011 3:32:58 PM Title: Out of control

Guh.

Er, I mean, I love the new developments. And how awesome to hear from Hank. Those two really aren't fooling everybody, are they? I guess it's like Lincoln said: some of the people all of the time. Anyway, your characterization is perfect, even though this is AU.

I noticed a few typos:

There was no way that tale she has just told was true.

I think you meant to write had... yes?

All her secret places smelt of him, and every inch of him bore the scented of her skin.

Should that be scent?

she wouldn't be able to reproduce other mutant's powers

That should be mutants', plural possessive.

He was a man would would trust his instincts, and use every advantage he had.

You repeated would there.

Good luck on your presentation! :)

Author's Response: Thank you - I did a read through but only the once, and this is what I get for rushing to post. Will try and fix these a bit later - thanks for the heads up. Glad you are enjoying how its all panning out!

Reviewer: litlen Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 06/09/2011 7:03:12 PM Title: Mixed messages

:) This is so damn good!.....so many different questions from all corners with everyone trying to interpret and decipher little clues and come up with their answers. Each perspective in this is so interesting. It’s nice to have ‘the whole picture’ (by that I mean the whole cast so to speak) and still have a story that’s v well written, great to read and with each character pov adding to it without taking anything away from the L/R centre.
Impatiently (I’ve been working on that but not very successfully) waiting for the next instalment x

Author's Response: Not sure I'll manage this weekend ... I've spent much of the week playing with my new toy, a gorgeous little laptop I've called 'baby'. I have finally loaded the software I need and Sleeping Dogs has made it here ... so I can write whenever and wherever. It should make future updates faster ... but this next one could be middle of next week. I promise I'll make it worth the wait ;)

Reviewer: Lorelai Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 06/06/2011 4:48:23 AM Title: Mixed messages

It's so exciting to get two updates so close together! I really like where everything is going and how the characters and story are developing. I also like that some things are still a mystery to the reader; instead of knowing the whole story that the characters don't know we still only know a little more than them which isn't very informative, but the mystery and suspense keep me on the edge of my seat. I can't wait for more to see where this all goes and have everything explained.

I love the relationship between Logan and Marie, you do such a good job of writing it and I still think it's a unique take and I enjoy finding out a little more with every chapter. :)

Author's Response: Thank you for your kind words! I love reading new and fresh ideas and its satisfying when I can deliver those too. And the slow, slow reveal is probably a function of the open-ended nature of this fic ... I don't have a specific goal in mind, so I don't have to hurry towards the resolution. We're slowdancing here :)

Reviewer: pepper-maroon Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/06/2011 3:16:51 AM Title: Mixed messages

So sorry I haven't been reviewing lately. (Work, life, take your pick...)

This is just fucking awesome!!!!!! I have to read and reread each chapter as I drink in your wonderful use of words. (I just spent another night reading it from the beginning)

It's not just the way Logan and Marie interact, it's also the way they appear to others. Scott, Jean, and the Professor subtly offer insight into what the Wolverine and Rogue are all about.

Every time I'm done reading a chapter, I am left in whimpers. Not only from the feelings evoked by their tormented psyches, but also the fact that this hot story is keeping me on my toes!!!

I will have to get better about reviewing (but I always read during work where I don't sign in so that I can keep my obsession a secret ;)

Thanks,
-Pepper

Author's Response: It's OK, Pepper. One review like that every few chapters will keep me very happy indeed! I am really enjoying the time and space to explore all those different facets; quite obviously, the conflict between appearance and reality is something that intrigues me (especially with these characters), and I've always liked looking at these two from the perspective of others. The next chapter might be a bit late but I'll do my best to find some extra whimper factor :D

Reviewer: Bancainte Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/01/2011 12:06:51 PM Title: The bad guy

Excellent! A sharp, bitter chapter, giving us a clear idea of Rogue´s fractured life, as outside and inside worlds clash: the mellow, glorious fulfillment with the harsh, steely end of things that were built on her outside persona alone. No trust, eh, Rogue?
A very tantalising final sentence, but the part that fascinates me most is Jean involuntarily (and without noticing?) siding with the Wolverine to keep his secret. As I said, I´ve always kinda liked Jean.
Neat artistic device to echo our own wrong assumptions and interpretations of her behaviour and the general situation in Jubilee´s attempts to make sense. Glad to find that you have managed to keep her sparkly, inquisitive and outrageous personality without making her the usual empty-headed teenager.
Tell us if we need to provide you with a cat for your neighbours, or more washing line for your kids, to make you go on at your admirable and gratifying pace! ;-)

Author's Response: Glad you are enjoying the talkier sections as well as the ... other sections ;) I do love the opportunity to explore truth and perception from so many different angles, then fill in the full story, shade by shade. And the chance to play with Jubilee is always a bonus ... she won my heart when I first wrote her chapter in (my old fic) The Bargain! I'm hoping to post the next chapter tonight or tomorrow ... husband has taken children swimming this afternoon, to allow me quality time with the computer. Bless.

Reviewer: baybelletrist Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 05/28/2011 11:28:56 PM Title: The bad guy

Ooooooooh. I like it. Shit Hits Fan, film at 11. You juggled the different viewpoints well. Only thing that didn't quite ring true to me was Gambit's dialogue--he quite didn't sound like the Cajun to me.

Author's Response: I do tend to like "shit hits fan" type chapters :D Seems I can't write one where the shit doesn't hit the fan! Re Gambit, I made a bit of a boo boo there. I actually wrote the dialogue bare (without the Cajun trimmings) for a reason, and had a para about how she was surprised by that, and how he hadn't used his "chere" and the "Remy this, Gambit that" thing. And how that revealed that he was putting on a show, disguising how he really felt. But I discarded that because it became less important as the context developed, and now the dialogue sounds wrongish. Doh! Just assume he was upset, and not himself!

Reviewer: Dita Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/28/2011 6:38:03 PM Title: The bad guy

I love this story as much as you love reviews! As much as I want to know how it's going to end... I want it to keep going. You've got my imagination running with this one!

Author's Response: thank you - it's nice to be appreciated! As to how it ends, I wouldn't worry about that - I don't think we're even halfway through yet. I forced myself to map out an outline of how this will develop; basic plot points and the like, what the resolution will be etc, but the characters just keep doing such interesting things completely of their own accord, and that needs to be explored! So there are many more chapters to come, I hope. (Particularly when the wonderful, lovely, generous souls like yourself make me realise its worth the time and effort ;)

Reviewer: White Dove Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/28/2011 6:19:31 PM Title: The bad guy

Love this story. Great update. The turmoil you create is great. Can't wait for more!

Author's Response: I chose JaqofSpades as my pen name because the Jack of Spades (in tarot) is a bring of chaos and danger. Turmoil, as you said, and out of that grows great stories!

Reviewer: bima140277 Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/28/2011 4:50:50 PM Title: The bad guy

Hmmm this last 3 word sentence is very interesting... and I think Wolvie should go after Rogue.

can't wait for more

Author's Response: Who knows what Wolvie will do? So unpredictable, that feral *grumbles* I'm hoping to get back to weekly updates for a bit, so hopefully something new will pop up next weekend. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: bima140277 Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/28/2011 4:41:42 PM Title: Morning glories

It was a long wait.

I'm sure ;)

Reviewer: bima140277 Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/28/2011 4:31:03 PM Title: Peace?

interesting end for this chapter...

Reviewer: tamisnead Signed star star star star half star [Report This]
Date: 05/28/2011 4:09:12 PM Title: The bad guy

Oh come on, nothings better than a sweaty Wolverine on a hot night! But this chapter is a close second

Author's Response: In retrospect, you're probably right. But look at it this way - no reviews, and I'll lose my faith in the power of the sweaty Wolverine. I'll keep him ALL to myself ;)

Reviewer: Melancholy Rogue Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/28/2011 3:24:45 PM Title: The bad guy

Really? Better than sweaty Wolverine on a hot night? I'm not so sure I could say the same. lol

I do love this story and the plot definitely keeps thickening. Great chapter as always. I can't wait to read more. :)

Author's Response: The fact that it's winter here may have influenced my poor, frozen brain. I could really do with a Wolvie feet warmer this week ... glad you are enjoying the story and I hope to have the next chapter up next weekend.

Reviewer: bima140277 Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/28/2011 2:54:59 PM Title: Wolverine and Rogue

I LOVE your smut!!!!! Sooooo HOTTTTTTTT!!!

Reviewer: serafim Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 05/28/2011 1:10:19 PM Title: The bad guy

OMG

I just LOVED this chapter! Jubilee's observations were fantastic, you had me rolling with laughter and yet drooling right along the X-Women (fall back is right LOL!)

In this one Chapter, you have been able to hold true to every character in your story, incredible. Just, incredible. Gambit's confrontation with Rogue was so cutting, I almost fell in love with him (almost - Logan is still number one, but barely :)

So, once again, bravo my dear, I am on the edge of my seat - just what the heck is going on with Jean? Me "lurves" it!

Author's Response: I glad the humour came through, because Jubes is always great for that. And what with all the sex and angst, I felt some comic relief might be useful. A talky chapter helps me move the plot on a bit, which is nice considering I have spent 25,000 words on what - 16 hours? I'm glad the individual characters are coming across well; I don't particularly like cyphers in a story, I want them all to be real people. And with an epic, I have that luxury! And Jean - hmm, I wonder ;)

Reviewer: litlen Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 05/16/2011 6:22:56 PM Title: Morning glories

Absolutely loved Logan in this chapter, you made me smile - complete with eye wrinkles that only appear with a big stupid grin (or age, I’m going with the big stupid grin!) his frustration, impatience and thoughts ………brilliantly written, loved how it was mixed with the seriousness of their predicament, even if the smiling may have made me look like I didn’t care!

‘He didn’t say “again”, or “like before”. ‘ She liked to pretend that Rogue had dealt with this. And maybe she had. But Marie – Marie was still huddled in that corner, shaking, tormented by her memories.’ -love hard hitting lines that keep you on your toes when reading and slam you right back into the heart of the story taking away the false sense of security that appeared in the words and paras around them!

Loving jubes too – ‘But she’d never asked, because Rogue was a friend. Sort of. The sort of friend you knew nothing about, and couldn’t really trust, but liked anyway.’ In this fic, the background that you have given so far and the way you have written Rogue I think this is one of the best descriptions of how it would be/feel for Jubilee. It really fits, such a great line.

So, to sum up - great stuff, thoroughly enjoying it, bring on the next instalment x

Author's Response: Sorry I missed this last time, litlen - I do love your reviews! I'm glad you appreciated that chapter; I really like to get inside Wolverine's head, and see his impulsiveness push through all that learned control occasionally. And Jubes - she's so much fun to write. I had even more fun in the new chapter - I love her language and her skewed way of seeing things. Hope you enjoy the next chapter!

Reviewer: doctorg Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/14/2011 12:59:17 PM Title: Target: Wolverine

Oops, I forgot my favorite line. There were a bunch of good ones, but I think this wins:

The sort of friend you knew nothing about, and couldn’t really trust, but liked anyway.

Reviewer: doctorg Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 05/14/2011 12:55:08 PM Title: Morning glories

Absolutely loving it. I read the chapter, then backed up to read it all in a row with the three before it again. Your creation of Wolverine and Rogue are just...mesmerizing. I don't know how you manage to make every chapter so electric, with their emotion and longing and want. It's an amazing talent.

Author's Response: Thank you - that's a beautiful thing to say. I'm not sure if its talent, or practice, or having a very, very vivid imagination. Probably a little of each!

Reviewer: baybelletrist Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 05/13/2011 4:26:16 AM Title: Morning glories

This was completely worth the wait. I love the way their relationship is shaping up, and your version of Jubilee is awesome. So many people forget she's not the airhead she sometimes pretends to be.

Author's Response: Glad you thought so! And I do enjoy writing Jubilee - not sure if I got the mallrat persona quite right yet, but there's still time :D

Reviewer: serafim Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 05/13/2011 4:10:12 AM Title: Morning glories

Love your Jubilee - very spot on!

The one person who actually gave a shit about him. The one woman who wanted more than the animal. The one, he admitted, as he looked into her eyes. And wasn’t that a fucking terrifying thought.

Did you hear that?

That was the sigh that escaped me when I read that line. Beautiful stuff - your words are mind candy. I loved this chapter, well worth the wait! :)

Author's Response: Oh, that makes it all worthwhile. I must admit I hate those chapters that don't just jump out at you ... I second guessed myself a lot on this one, but the fact that people like it makes me trust me instincts that bit more. It's so tempting to gallop for the happy ending, but this story is a bit too complex for an easy resolution ... so I feel the need to deliver some sighworthy moments along the way ;)

Reviewer: Bancainte Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/28/2011 6:35:59 PM Title: Peace?

Glowing, both! Good. And you can see how much this story has me in a twist by me admitting a certain degree of relief that the trouble prepares to come from the outside for a change.
In any case: Do keep on writing! This is all excellent stuff!!! (In case my comments have managed to be so meandering that you've never caught this central attitude. :-)

Umm... would the cat not make at least a day's worth of food? You need to teach the kids priorities, you know! :-D

Author's Response: Thank you for your wonderful reviews - I always love them. Sorry to twist you all up! I do intend to keep writing although life has me on a mini-hiatus at the moment; that, and I took a wrong turn in the next chapter and am currently struggling over a rewrite. But there should be something new this week, I promise. Thanks so much for your reviews ... they are better than TimTams.

Reviewer: Bancainte Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/28/2011 6:22:08 PM Title: Wolverine and Rogue

Oh, WOW! This is possibly the best I've ever seen of the inside of Jean's mind! Yes, wanting someone to such a breathtakingly insane degree is rough to take, isn't it? Extremely well observed, her insights regarding Logan/Wolverine. I'm quite relieved to get a view of an intelligent woman here, not the rather ghastly picture Rogue presented of her earlier.

And this chapter has quite a number of remarkable lines. "The type of man who would fuck you into the floor and not even offer you a hand up afterwards." Quite an apposite way of delienating lust and love.
And in the same vein, the difference between love and romance: "It sounded like music, and felt like a car crash." No, indeed, love doesn't always play nice, and doesn't at all times involve little flying guys with cutsie wings and bows. No.

Rogue's underestimating her younger self, and she's underesrtimating Marie. Why, I wonder? Too used to being a victim? It can be quite a warm cloak, that role. Set with the shards of early dreams on the inside, but warm nonetheless.

I'm keeping my fingers crossed for them, despite knowing how much of a monster love can be.
Oh, and for Jean! I kinda like her. Really, REALLY don't envy her the place in the garage right now, with a good chance to be discovered by a hot Wolverine. Or a hotter Rogue. Or, worst of all, by a bewildered, defensive Rogue.

You must login (register) to review.