Reviews For Callous
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: BlueFrog Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 01/24/2017 7:11:07 PM Title: Chapter 6

Amazing. So well written. I absolutely love how the characters are written in this. Congratulations on a fantastic piece.

Reviewer: smilinghoney Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 06/01/2013 8:23:59 PM Title: Chapter 6

Okay, I'm sorry but I appear to be a world class bitch. I've read this about a dozen times now and just realized that I never reviewed it.

This story is amazing. I could feel the tension, the pain, the loss, then the joy.... oh the joy. I could feel the sun shining on them and laugh with them about how early it was. I can feel the wind in my hair as they go on that ride to celebrate her new life together.

Amazing storytelling. Thank you!

Author's Response: Oh, please, you are NOT so NO WORRIES!! I am just absolutely THRILLED that you have enjoyed the story enough to read it more than once, let alone to take the time to comment. (And happy that something told me to hop back on this Site today, otherwise I would have missed the comment completely!)

Author's Response: Oh, please, you are NOT so NO WORRIES!! I am just absolutely THRILLED that you have enjoyed the story enough to read it more than once, let alone to take the time to comment. (And happy that something told me to hop back on this Site today, otherwise I would have missed the comment completely!) Thank you SO MUCH for the kind words, you made my afternoon :-)

Reviewer: justanji Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/15/2011 3:32:09 AM Title: Chapter 6

I liked it I just wished there had been more detail on Rogue's part about her getting rescued :)

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm happy that you liked it overall, and I'm sorry that there wasn't any detail from Rogue's POV regarding her rescue. I guess I felt that, by that point, she wasn't overly cognizant of what was going on, with the revelations that she was 'safe' coming later (and kind of shown in Chapter 1) for her. I didn't want to overlap the two scenes really, but I guess a bit more detail wouldn't have gone amiss, so my apologies! Thank you for reading and reviewing. They make my day :-)

Reviewer: doctorg Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 04/08/2011 6:05:59 PM Title: Chapter 6

Wow, it's impossible to pick my favorite line from this. It took me so long and I got it narrowed down to:

A whispered, purring endearment tickles the back of her mind - telling her she did good

or

There is blood congealing on his clothes, and he can't seem to stop the low growl rumbling in his chest, or the retract-release retract-release motion of his claws that he makes with each step.

I love how you treat Logan's claws throughout the fic...how they are close to the edge of his skin at times, how they reflect his tension. I thought everything there was to say about his claws had been said, but you manage to make it new and interesting and as much a part of his character as they really are. Just really a great touch.

They say that there's a moment, just before the world comes crashing down, when a person's whole life flashes before their eyes. When that moment happens to Rogue, there are more than twenty lives sharing the space of a few seconds.

Author's Response: Oh, I love hear what lines folks like the most! The first two you picked out I actually kept going back to edit, and then stopped myself and didn't, so it's good to hear that you think they work! As for Logan's claws, they are definitely a part of him that I can't help but focus on, such a good indicator of his mood, I think. (I'll admit, they sort of fascinate me, so if I manage not to go overboard with referencing them, and made it work, I am THRILLED.) Thank you AGAIN for all your kind words, it's so very appreciated, and completely makes my day :-)

Reviewer: Melancholy Rogue Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/06/2011 8:11:15 PM Title: Chapter 6

Beautiful. Truly, just a beautiful story. Bravo!

Author's Response: Thank you!! I'm so happy that you enjoyed, and thanks for sticking around until the finish :-D

Reviewer: litlen Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 04/06/2011 5:19:17 PM Title: Chapter 6

10/10 for style and content, you never disappoint on either count and this fic has done nothing but continually climb up my all time fav list. I love the back and forth with past and present and pov which you get extra credits for cause as I’ve said before I’m not usually a huge fan! Great pace and flow, beautifully descriptive with every little detail covered. Very eloquently written and thouroughly enjoyable to read.

Very hard to only pick only one line from this chapter but the winner is....... ‘It's cold in her cell, and colder in her mind. A blank canvas that was once a chaotic work of art, wiped clean from spilled turpentine, leaving tracks of color at the edge.’

Author's Response: You know that you just made my morning, right? Seriously, I get nervous every time I post a chapter, and comments like yours just make it all worth it. I'm still so happy that the back and forth POV worked for you. I knew it was a gamble when writing, but it just felt like the best way to tell the story, and it's good to know that I am not alone in thinking that it worked! (And that line was one of my favorites when I wrote it, so THANK YOU for picking it out!) Really, again, THANK YOU. Your support has been wonderful. (New fandoms can be scary things sometimes, ya know?)

Reviewer: baybelletrist Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 04/06/2011 5:08:23 PM Title: Chapter 6

Oh, this is marvelous. So very much worth the wait. The language is graceful and elegant; you never set a foot wrong. Thank you so much.

Author's Response: Yay!! Thank you for the lovely comments, and for being willing to finish this, despite the delay in posting. I can't tell you what that means to me. So just, thanks!

Reviewer: doctorg Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 04/06/2011 4:51:19 PM Title: Chapter 6

Holy wow! I'll write more when I'm not on my phone, but that was perfect and beautiful and I'm so very sad that it's over even though the ending was great.

Author's Response: Oh, thank you! (And reviewing on a phone is a pain, I know, so doubly thank you for leaving this!) I'm glad that the ending worked for you, as I waffled on it a bit, trying to get it right, so it's nice to know some people think I did! *deep sigh of relief*

Reviewer: serafim Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/06/2011 4:42:29 PM Title: Prologue

Speck. Tack. You. Lar. I savoured each and every word. Thank you for giving this - just, really - WOW.

Author's Response: Thank you!! *bounces* You have no idea how wonderful that is to hear. I'm thrilled that you enjoyed :-D

Reviewer: doctorg Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/26/2011 11:28:47 AM Title: Prologue

Any chance of an update soon? Anxiously waiting... :-D

Author's Response: There is, yes! My apologies for the ghastly delay in posts, RL decided to beat on me this past month. I'm working on the final chapter now, and am REALLY hoping to have it up this week. *fingers crossed*

Reviewer: thatcraftykid Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/15/2011 8:45:35 AM Title: Chapter 5

"It's better now, Charles. Better now that they're back. The voices, personalities. Whatever you wanna call 'em. The noise is better than the silence."

This is a really interesting sentiment. Like, as much as Rogue rallies against the voices in her head (like Wolverine rallies against the animal in him), they're all wrapped up in who she is, and when they're gone she isn't the same, either. Really nice characterization you've got going on.

Author's Response: Not to sound like a broken record, but THANK YOU! The idea that Rogue might be USE to the voices in her head is something that really intrigues me, and I wanted to show that for her, having her head be empty of them at this point in time is the thing that can break her, because they are just too integrated into her psyche now that removing them would be akin to having a lobotomy. Really glad that you are enjoying this! Your comments have made my day :-D

Reviewer: thatcraftykid Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/15/2011 8:28:06 AM Title: Chapter 4

Sick chapter break. Love it. I also love the reversal in their roles between the flashback and the present time.

Author's Response: Thanks! I've tried to keep some balance over the POV switches, so glad to hear that's working!

Reviewer: thatcraftykid Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/14/2011 5:09:24 PM Title: Chapter 2

I love, love how you've got this set up. All the sweet possibility of the before and the horrifying uncertainty of the after...ugh. So sad. So great.

And addictive. I don't want to stop reading here! But it's late. Tomorrow, I'll be back for sure.

Author's Response: Oh, rock! So glad that you are liking this so far (and getting sleep is always a good thing, no worries there). I can't tell you how good it is to hear that people are enjoying the before/after set up. I really had been worried about that. rnrnThank you so much for reading and commenting! Makes my day :-D

Reviewer: Turante Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 03/01/2011 8:43:10 AM Title: Chapter 5

Wonderful, fabulous, marvelous, etc. :D
Looking forward to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you!! *bounces* I'm glad you liked. Hopefully I will have the final chapter up this week. *fingers crossed*

Reviewer: litlen Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 02/25/2011 6:15:28 PM Title: Chapter 5

Small point, it’s technically chapter 5 not 6 but who cares! whatever you want to call it was superb x

‘he'd managed to work Marie into every crevice of his life, and the absence of her from them has left a gaping chasm.’ And your descriptions convey this brilliantly.
‘and he thinks: Marie'd love it here.’ Sometimes no matter what you do or how hard you try the truth will always jump up and bite you on the arse when you least expect it.

Fav line: ‘and grasp at the minuscule tidbits of herself she finds dancing in the fray’

Sorry its short but I’ve been up since 3am this morning, it’s now late and I’m way past knackered! – great chapter [so glad you didn’t split it] love it all, every damn word, It really is a fantastic read. Look forward to the last part yet will be sad to see it end! Full marks as usuall x

Author's Response: Ohh, thanks for the catch on the chapter numbers! I had a heck of a time posting this chapter for some reason (the uploader wasn't working right for me), and by the time I got it to work, I just forgot about the chapter name! *runs off to fix* rn
rnI'm THRILLED that you are still liking this!! (And no worries on leaving a 'short' review, any and all lengths are VERY appreciated!) And yours certainly make me happy to read :-D rn
rnYou happened to peel out a couple of my favorite lines as well, so I'm glad those stuck out to you. (I love that you let me know which lines stand out!!)rn
rnLast part should (hopefully) be up soon. Here's hoping that it doesn't disappoint!!

Reviewer: doctorg Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/15/2011 7:39:11 PM Title: Chapter 4

Another great chapter! Very interested to see where it goes from here!

Author's Response: Thank you!! I'm hoping to have the next part up in a few days. *fingers crossed*

Reviewer: Solidae Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/15/2011 1:14:34 PM Title: Chapter 4

Duhn duhn duhnnnnn... I will be joining you again for the next exciting installment of CALLOUS.

Author's Response: Hehe! I'm glad to entertain :-)

Reviewer: Melancholy Rogue Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/15/2011 11:52:32 AM Title: Chapter 4

What a great chapter. You feel like you're right in there with them. Awesome. :)

Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: litlen Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 02/15/2011 9:44:45 AM Title: Chapter 4

I could pick out so, so many words/lines/paras that hit me, they seem to be constant, making the reading of this an absolute joy. You write with such depth and power but obviously I can’t rewrite the whole thing so here’s what stood out the most :)

Loved the description at the start, his desperation led impatience and fury at having to wait to get to her and then the disappointment, the realization that she’s not there at all. This first section was superb.

Loved her whole attitude, the way you gave her strength. Captive but not cowering.
And this :- ‘By the way, she says hello.’ Stunning way to end a para. Also love the little hints and flashes of the others in this [and the last chapter]

‘Stable. Tired. Drained. Alive.
He feels the same way.’
Brilliant description again in the above lines. You feel it and see it as you read about him waiting for her to wake up. And then the ending………what can I say? not what I was expecting so much more powerful and harder hitting when read - Didn’t think it could get any better but this chapter was on fire.

**glad you were pleased to know the format is working! – I am a beginning middle and end fan and definitely in that order so if I’m getting it, not having a problem with it and absolutely loving it, there is no excuse for anyone else!!!**

Author's Response: Oh...wow. You have, quite literally, made my day with this review. Seriously, I'm smiling all kinds of stupid-happy right now :-D I was actually really nervous about this chapter, since it was kind of a shift from the last ones, so to hear that you think so much of it worked is a relief. As always, it is WONDERFUL to hear what bits stand out the most, really helps me with future installments. And I am SO GLAD that the ending was both unexpected and powerful (and hopefully not TOO out of left-field). I think that there are a lot of ways that Rogue can go, when it comes to absorbing a truck-load of people. She has always struck me as a very strong character, and I wanted that to show in her reactions/responses to what happens to her throughout the fic.

Reviewer: doctorg Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 02/13/2011 9:22:38 AM Title: Chapter 3

Aargh! I'm going to be stalking this site for your next chapter! So much of this was great, but I especially loved this description:

His mouth pulled into a too-thin line, and jaw ticking every few seconds. His fingers twitching around a cigar that isn't there. She sees his eyes darken, and his nostrils flare. His gaze scanning her quickly, before it flickers towards the exit, like he's got somewhere else he'd rather be. Like he's just waiting for her to give, for her will to bend to his, so that he can get a move on.

Author's Response: Hehe! I'm actively working on the next two chapters, so hopefully you won't have TOO long of a wait until the next one is up. As for that section that you pointed out: THANK YOU! I fussed with that one a little bit, just trying to get the right emotions to come across, so to know that it stuck out for you is awesome :-D I'm REALLY glad that you are liking this!! Thank you for taking the time to read and comment!!! (My apologies for my abuse of the exclamation point in these responses ;-P)

Reviewer: doctorg Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 02/13/2011 9:10:49 AM Title: Chapter 2

Damn, another fantastic chapter! I love the little interactions with Jean. And you really communicate Marie's distress without her being all teenage-melodrama-y. Thanks for this...I'm sad to move on because I know it's the last chapter written so far...

Author's Response: You are totally making my night right now, do you know that? I'm thrilled that you liked the Jean interactions!! I'm an equal-opportunity character lover, so Jean and I get along :-) I'm also glad that Marie isn't coming across as melodrama-y. I want her to be believable, so it's good to hear that.

Reviewer: doctorg Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 02/13/2011 8:58:38 AM Title: Chapter 1

Holy cow, this is getting better and better! I love all the details...the tinny smell of the air conditioning versus the rubber of the road. And the language is so clever without being "overwritten," Logan bathing in her scent like a lapdog, how you say "her drawl pulls his attention from the back of his eyelids" instead of just "he opened his eyes when he heard..." And the contrast between their easy, unspoken relationship before and the current crisis is just great. On to the next chapter -- please promise not to leave this one unfinished, I can already tell I would be devestated!

Author's Response: Oh, wow, THANK YOU!! I'm really glad to hear that you don't think it's being 'overwritten' as I really do try to avoid that. And thanks for pointing out what lines really worked for you, I LOVE finding out stuff like that, so helpful, ya know? (And I promise I'm going to finish this!! So, no worries!)

Reviewer: doctorg Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/13/2011 8:47:29 AM Title: Prologue

Wow, this is great! On to the next chapter. :-)

Author's Response: Thanks!!

Reviewer: litlen Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/07/2011 6:26:39 AM Title: Chapter 3

Am actually loving the two stories running together here, maybe because you’ve made it easy on us, it’s not too complicated with the first half/second half theme to your chapters! It’s working really well. Have to say that chapter 2 seemed lacking in something compared to the prologue and chapter 1 - personally too much repeat wording that didn’t work for me in first 3 paras of after: day 5, other than that I’m not sure what it was and I’m really not helping because I can’t put my finger on it! That is not to say that it wasn’t good because it definitely was, it just seemed a little ‘less’ than the other two! However, chapter 3 was right back kicking and screaming greatness – bring on the next instalment I’m definitely hooked on this. Well done x

Author's Response: "Am actually loving the two stories running together here, maybe because youíve made it easy on us, itís not too complicated with the first half/second half theme to your chapters! Itís working really well." *wipes brow* You have NO IDEA how good that is to hear. I keep wondering if the format might be throwing people off, and maybe it is to a point, but to know that at least some of you lovely folks think it is working is a real load off. So, THANK YOU for that. "Have to say that chapter 2 seemed lacking in something compared to the prologue and chapter 1 - personally too much repeat wording that didnít work for me in first 3 paras of after: day 5" I'm sorry for that. I really am. I was very much trying to convey the kind of rut that life seems like to Rogue. How it's just a case of going through the motions for her at that point, and that she really doesn't want to bother with it at all. Maybe I went overboard with my attempt to make the reader feel that way though, so, my apologies for that! Glad that this chapter came back "kicking and screaming" for you though!! That is a wonderful compliment. I will certainly try to maintain that level of momentum in the next parts. (I've said it before, and I will say it again, thank you for taking the time to read and comment, it means a lot to me.)

Reviewer: justanji Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/06/2011 11:56:41 PM Title: Chapter 3

Waaaaii!!!! I want to know more!

Loving how this is going to far! I love damaged Rogue fics!
~Anji

Author's Response: More to come, promise! Thrilled that you like, and that I am feeding your damaged-Rogue-fic needs :-D Thanks for taking the time to read and comment!!!

You must login (register) to review.