You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Lionel Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 10/09/2012 4:28:16 AM Title: Chapter 1

satisfactory have on final results, truthful therapy of the sneakers you have on. Bear in mind to not put on regular trainers or jogging footwear for soccer, spiked christian louboutin heels basketball together with other vigorous exercising. Simultaneously, but any type of sports activities sneakers using the device can't contact;A: shoe leather-based, with cotton moist, wring, christian louboutin pigalle plato wipe!II: mesh cheap louboutin , louboutin mesh networks largely PV area, you should utilize an aged toothbrush, louboutins stained h2o, wipe through the inside of out! These types of as mesh before the shoe, then it ought to be through the Nike footwear for Nike the path of brush toe footwear! so not a lot of filthy points still left while in the Nike footwear! The Philadelphia 76ers undoubtedly are a qualified basketball workforce located in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. They enjoy while

Reviewer: JadeFeonix Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 06/01/2011 8:27:54 PM Title: Chapter 48

Buwahahahahahaha Jean torture! My fave ;3

Reviewer: JadeFeonix Signed star star star star half star [Report This]
Date: 06/01/2011 8:03:55 PM Title: Chapter 44

Too short of a chapter D:

Reviewer: JadeFeonix Signed star star star star half star [Report This]
Date: 06/01/2011 7:50:12 PM Title: Chapter 41

stupid jean...what's that bitch got up her sleezy sleve?

Reviewer: JadeFeonix Signed star star star star half star [Report This]
Date: 06/01/2011 7:03:13 PM Title: Chapter 37

D: so dramatic!

Reviewer: JadeFeonix Signed star star star star half star [Report This]
Date: 06/01/2011 6:52:33 PM Title: Chapter 36

Hahahaha! I likes this chapter very much so!

Reviewer: JadeFeonix Signed star star star star half star [Report This]
Date: 06/01/2011 6:13:55 PM Title: Chapter 31

D; Bobby sucks ass D:

Reviewer: JadeFeonix Signed star star star star half star [Report This]
Date: 05/31/2011 11:16:31 PM Title: Chapter 23

Wow i actually LIKE scott in this one ;3

Reviewer: JadeFeonix Signed star star star [Report This]
Date: 05/31/2011 11:03:03 PM Title: Chapter 20

Ha Jean got whats coming to her! See how she likes being ignored and toyed with

Reviewer: velvetemr73 Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/19/2011 10:12:05 PM Title: Chapter 3

wow o wow.
I'm not one for crazy long stories but this one I will stick with. I love how each chapter reveals something new. :)

Reviewer: path Signed star star star star half star [Report This]
Date: 08/09/2010 8:51:00 AM Title: Epilogue

This is a GREAT story! I read it through TWICE without stopping! I would love to see you continue into the future--maybe even see both groups have to work together because some student got kidnapped and Storm's group couldn't get her back--maybe a friend of Rogue's son or daughter?

Author's Response: Been thinking of something along those lines. Something that would tie everything together and bring Storm - who showed more understanding then anyone else - and Rogue's team back together. Thanks for a great suggestion! I'm so glad you enjoy my work.

Reviewer: Lorna Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/24/2010 4:18:27 PM Title: Epilogue

Whew! I`m hooked by your story. It`s so long and pretty amazing.
The plot is very interesting! Very good-

Reviewer: Cherryblossom104 Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 12/26/2009 6:19:36 AM Title: Epilogue

Most people that I know would take one look at how long this Fan Fic is and say 'OH HELL NO. I am not gunna read something that damn long.' But I took it on as a challenge. I love your stories. And I loved this one just as much as I have the others. You satisfied the Gore Whore in me that I have deprived for a long time. But the emotions and rage behind every action that was taken and every interaction that was made.... Bravo. I admire you greatly and can't wait to read more of your stories. But now since it's 3:18 in the morning... that will have to wait for another time.

Reviewer: Cherryblossom104 Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 12/21/2009 5:18:35 AM Title: Chapter 26

I never thought I would say it. I like Scott Summers. *Shakes head is awe* I actually like his character. And all that had to be done was a little change of who writes his character and the fact that he gets knocked off his high horse. Jesus Christ this is great.

Reviewer: Cherryblossom104 Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 12/21/2009 4:44:10 AM Title: Chapter 21

FINALLY!! Scott has some backbone and I finally have respect for the man! WOOO!!!

Reviewer: Lost2bfound Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 06/05/2009 4:58:57 PM Title: Chapter 1

I love this story so much from the begging it captivated me until the end. Loved the whole plot and would love to find out what would happen to the characters in the future.. =)

Reviewer: Corinne Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/03/2009 12:46:25 AM Title: Chapter 41

evil Jean YES! i hate her so much, love it!

Reviewer: Corinne Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/03/2009 12:19:04 AM Title: Chapter 35

he totally deserved that.

but...wow. *shudder*

Reviewer: Corinne Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 04/02/2009 11:10:49 PM Title: Chapter 19

ooooh, are they going to kidnap another x-man? i hope so! this story is thrilling!

Reviewer: Corinne Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 04/02/2009 9:46:44 PM Title: Chapter 5

oooooh, i just found this story and i am super intrigued!

Xavier better watch out.

Reviewer: litlen Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 09/01/2008 3:18:18 AM Title: Epilogue

After the last two reviews for this story I feel slightly more than ‘ I loved it’ is needed.

The old saying ‘you can’t please all the people all of the time’ comes to mind and where fanfiction is concerned I don’t think you ever could, after all, everyone has there preferences not only on the concept of the story but on the characters too. However at the end of the day it is fiction, and therefore the writer can take the story and the characters in whatever direction they choose. The bottom line for me being that if the story itself is good enough it will carry the characters in whatever direction they have been taken.

I enjoyed reading not only the very descriptive reasons why the girls became who they were and that they overcame it to a certain degree but also that it wasn’t at all the so called ‘normal happy ending way!’ I loved the protection of each other and not just between couples, that the men in this story although still badass and strong kept everything together in the background allowing the girls to heal from the front and I for one had no problem with the girls version of justice or the mens!!

To a certain degree I understand the comment made about repetition - there were a few lines and words that were used more than once but how else do you say rape other than saying rape. I understood their need to tell again and again of their suffering.

We all love L/R which is why we’re on this site and justice was done to them in this story but it was nice to see some of the others having more of a ‘staring role’ Kitty and Jubilee especially. A lot of people try it, not everyone succeeds, sometimes it takes away from the basics of L/M - the same can be said for any new characters added but I think this story had great balance in that respect.

All I can recommend to anyone is read it. I thoroughly enjoyed it - you may or you may not but that could be said for any of the thousands of stories on this site. It is AU, it is dark but it’s also very very good!

Author's Response: Thank you litlen for your heartfelt feedback. rnrnIndeed the old addage is quite true and something I've learned in the world of writing be it fanfiction or original is that there comes a point when the characters tell you what they want to say. rnrnFor me Rogue and the girls spoke of their suffering via a medium I use, I didn't write it to suit myself. I wanted to make a clear statement about inner strength and courage - and I feel I did that. I'm glad you enjoyed this story, and that you felt strongly enough about it to give such a detailed response. Its greatly appreciated...so Thank You!!!!

Reviewer: August Dawn Signed star [Report This]
Date: 08/22/2008 11:21:21 AM Title: Epilogue

Sigh.
I have to be honest, despite the good writing style and having enjoyed other stories by shadowlady, I really didn't like this story.
I forced myself to read it 'til the end, but it felt like reading one of those books you don't enjoy but want to give it a chance and finish it just so you know what happens and can have an honest opinion.

It was extremely dark, but that's not what ruined it for me. I like dark, and I like angst, but I would say that whilst being explicit to make a point is one thing, the constant repetition here felt rather self indulgent.

I liked the new characters, Helen, Tank, etc, but our well loved characters just aren't recognisable in this story. I rather agree with what the reviewer (darkstar) before me wrote, though I can't express myself as well.

The guys sitting and watching the girls torture Iceman / Jean? Xavier not caring wat happens to anyone?
Just not believable.

Also, it was very drawn out and repetitive, I felt like I was reading the same thing over and over in different chapters. The girls just sounded like a broken record, endlessly repeating the same mantra about what had happened to them. The guys too actually.

I'm sorry, I hate being negative but I just didn't like this one. A lot of others seem to have loved it though, so I must be missing something.

Author's Response: Thank you August Dawn for your response - even now so long after i've moved on from this story. Admittedly after reading this one over again it was a bit darker than my usual fare. However, it was therapeautic for me to write. While I value your honesty and your critical response, I'm also glad that you enjoy my other work - most of which is a lot lighter. This was one story that I think you have to have the right mindset to read. Thanks again for the feedback - as always its appreciated be it a fountain of praise or a more realistic down to earth reply!

Reviewer: darkstar Signed star half star [Report This]
Date: 07/15/2008 11:44:50 PM Title: Chapter 1

I read this story because it was recommended to me through the WRBeta list, and I can definitely say it was definitely what I requested-- a dark, angsty fic in which Logan, Marie and their friends are pushed through hell and back.

Shadowlady is certainly not one to shy away from character death, character mutilation, or complex characterizations that force the reader into tension between sympathy with the characters and shock at what they do in the name of vengeance.

This is perhaps my problem with the story. I am a die-hard angst fan, and do like stories which push the characters to their limits-- and beyond. I also like stories in which Rogue or Logan survives hell and helps the other deal with the aftermath... but I think this story goes too far, even for my somewhat dark palate. My concerns are as follows:
(warning: some mild spoilers)

1) The X-men as evil heartless monsters. I am all for darker reinterpretations of Xavier's dream, as long as its done realistically. The X-men still have to be recognizable, which they weren't in this story. Their extreme inhumanity was hard to believe. Also, the explanation that sexual jealousy was at the root of Jean and Storm's animosity to Marie/Jubes/Kitty was unsupported in the narrative. It's a pretty huge deal to create a character who will send innocent girls into rape and torture out of petty jealousy. A character change that severe could have benefited from more development.

2) My larger concern was with the characterization of Marie, Kitty, and Jubilation. Even Logan and Scott, to a lesser extent. It wasn't that they wanted vengeance....that part was understandable. They had my full sympathy at the beginning of the story but I found it harder and harder to sympathize with the girls as they did to others the very things done to them. It cheapened their suffering. At first, I was rooting for them to pull the pieces together and get justice. But time and time again, the story shows their trauma over certan, horrific abuse and then shows them gleefully inflicting that abuse on others. By the time they tortured Iceman to death, I couldn't read anymore. It was too unreal, and I'd lost any sympathy for them whatsoever. I skipped to the end to see if their characters might have found redemption, but right until the very end, the girls and Logan seem only capable of meting out hard, brutal retribution. Yet they are shown as happy wives and mothers...this seemed incongruous to say the least. I doubt their lives could be so happily free of the psychological/emotional backlash....not of what was done to them but what them themselves did.


This story could have been a compelling fall-from-grace narrative about the pain of surviving and the choice between vengeance and life. An example of a well-done story along these lines is Minisoo's Climb the Wind. The Frankenstein Effect just seemed like an exercise in violence.

Certainly the story had its well done aspects as well. The complex sisterhood between the girls is well done, as are their various relationships. Kitty's domination of Scott was quite interesting and though I thought it was taken to an extreme degree I applauded the unconventional Scott characterization. I also like Creed Inc., and the assorted characters there.

To summarize, The Frankenstein Effect starts off strong but misses its full potential. As a reader, I was most left with sadness....not from a well-done angst story but from the nihilistic sense of futility that grew with each chapter. Strong writing and initially promising characterizations can't hold up under the relentless dehumanization of the characters which leads me to write this one off.

Author's Response: Thank you for your comments and feedback Darkstar. Having gone back and reread this story there are several points you've made that are excellent and if I were to write this now after having learned what I have, I probably would have made things a bit smoother. I appreciate your words, and your opinion. That you felt strongly enough to leave such a detailed reply was for me worth the critical points you made. Thank you, and while I'm sorry you didn't get the entire picture of what this story is about - (it is not my usual forte), I'm glad that you stuck with it and read it in its entirety.

Reviewer: Isis Nocturne Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 06/20/2008 3:13:14 PM Title: Epilogue

What a great ending! Good luck on all of your future endeavors!

Reviewer: bima140277 Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/20/2008 9:17:26 AM Title: Epilogue

I can't believe the story is finished.

*applauds*

I think I'm gonna start rereading right now.

You must login (register) to review.